Atlanta Kookaburras Logo



In 2003 the club moved forward both on and of the field. The Atlanta Kookaburras successfully applied for Not for profit 501(c)(3) status with the IRS and had a brand new administration set up in late 2002. Wayne Kraska took over as head coach assisted by Brent Bacon who had joined the Kookaburras midway through the 2002 season from the Chicago Swans where he was a founding member and player.

Some first year players would be Ben Crist, Pete Eckman, Thad Sheffield, Tim Roberson, Travis Quigley, Damien Lee and Rene Daniel to name a few.

In 2003 the first games were played at the Atlanta Polo Club in Cumming GA. The huge and lush open fields there would be a wonderful relief for all players both Atlantan and visitors and be a welcome break from some less than suitiable surfaces around the USA.

The Kookaburras had a great year on the field racking up many wins with just two losses in the regular season to Nashville and Boston, both away games. The team captured their third SEAFL Premiership hosting at the Polo Fields on short notice with the help of club sponsor Carpet Care. Atlanta winning that game easily 20.11.131 to NC 5.2.32. BJ Gambaro would take home the Best on Ground trophy awarded after game by umpires Mike Powers and Seth McAlvaney.

At the USAFL Nationals again in KC the Kookaburras would again be slotted into Div 1 and despite a less than competitive day on Saturday won their first Div 1 game ever on Sunday defeating the St Louis Blues in a dogged affair.

Coach: Wayne Kraska
Assistant Coach: Brent Bacon
Captain: Brent Bacon
Vice-Captains: Andrew Beh, Neil Tresize
Record: 8 wins, 4 losses
SEAFL Position: 2nd
Best-and-Fairest: Wayne Kraska
Leading Goalkicker: Wayne Kraska - 17 goals
US Representative: B.J. Gambaro
Played in all games: Brent Bacon
SEAFL: Premiers
National Championships Div 1: 1 win, 2 losses in pool play