Atlanta Kookaburras Logo



In 2001 the Atlanta Kookaburras lost many players through relocations and players returning to Australia. Steven 'Thommo" Thomson became the coach and captain and would the the club well. The Kookaburras alos joined the South Eastern Australian Football League with other teams the Tri Cities Saints and Nth Carolina Tigers. The Sth Carolina Hawks would fold this year without ever playing a stand-alone game.

New players into the fold were Justin Biggs, Dan Heffernan, Wayne Kraska, Mike Frost, Ron Sheffield, Nathan Jones, Allen Bowdler, Michael Johns, Lou Fullagher and Tim Monkhouse.

Despite having a less than great year the Kookaburras were able to get into the SEAFL Grand Final on a better percentage and amazingly captured the inaugural SEAFL Premiership by upsetting the Tigers in Raleigh, NC. The scores Atlanta 11.10.76 to Nth Carolina 7.13.55

At the USAFL National Championships in Los Angeles the Kookaburras made it into the Grand Final of Div 2 but went down narrowly to the New York Magpies.

Coach: Steve Thompson
Assistant Coach: Lou Fullagar
Captain: Steve Thompson
Vice-Captain: Lou Fullagar
Record: 6 wins, 7 losses
SEAFL Position: 2nd
Best-and-Fairest: David Croft
Leading Goalkicker: David Croft - 29 goals
Played in all games: Alp Oran
SEAFL: Premiers
National Championships: 3 wins, 1 loss - second place in Division 2